Skip to main content

RefWorks: Add, check and edit references

There are many methods of adding references to RefWorks

HH Finna is Haaga-Helia's online library. It includes both print and electronic materials. Add references to RefWorks either one by one or several at a time. 

Sending one reference

  1. Click the title of the material.
  2. Click Export reference and Export: RefWorks on the top menu. You are automatically directed to the RefWorks login page. Give your RefWorks ID and password. You may also be asked whether you want to export to New RefWorks or old RefWorks (Legacy RefWorks).
  3. Once the reference has been exported successfully, you will get a notification Import Complete. Click OK to see the contents of the Last Imported folder. References you bring to RefWorks always go to the Last Imported folder. References stay there for 30 day.
  4. It's recommended to check that the references have been imported to RefWorks completely and without errors. For now, the new RefWorks doesn't recognise scandinavian letters å,ä,ö. You need to add them to references manually. See instructions on the right "Checking and editing references".
  5. After you have checked the references, move them to a folder you have created (see instructions).

Sending several references

  1. Log in to your HH Finna account..
  2. Add references to Favourites by clicking the tack icon.
  3. Open Favourites on your account and select references to be exported.
  4. Select Export selected and RefWorks.

 

You can export references to RefWorks from most databases with a couple of clicks.

1. Login to your RefWorks account.

2. Do a search in the database, select references to export.

3. Find a link for exporting to RefWorks. The link may be called

  • Export to RefWorks
  • Manage references  - Export to RefWorks
  • Save or send references / Export - RefWorks
  • Download Record into RefWorks Direct Export Tool
  • Direct Export to RefWorks
  • RefWorks Direct Export

If you can't find a suitable option for exporting references, it usually can be found by clicking the print/save button (save, export, download, display, export citation, export option...). Examples:

  • Arto: Select references - Export - RefWorks export - Click to export
  • Business Premium Collection (ProQuest): Select references (mark) - Selected items – Save - Export / Save - RefWorks
  • Dawsonera: Read online - Cite: Refworks
  • Ebook Central: Cite book – Export citation - Refworks
  • Ebsco: Add references to Folder - Folder – Export - Direct export to RefWorks - Save
  • Elsevier ScienceDirect: Export - Save to RefWorks - Export
  • Google Scholar: Settings - Biliography manager- Show links to import citations into - select Refworks. On the search result list: import into RefWorks
  • IEEE Xplore: Download Citation - RefWorks - Download
  • Helecon databases: Mark the records - Add marked record to basket - Export references to Refworks - Export to Refworks
  • Melinda: Mark the records - Reference manager: Refworks Export - Submit
  • OECDiLibrary: View the full record - Cite this publication / chapter / article / paper - Download to: Import into RefWorks
  • Sage: Select references - Download delected citations - Format: RefWorks - Download citation - Submit data to ReWorks
  • Web of Science: Mark the records - Export - Refworks

4. It's recommended to check that the references have been imported to RefWorks completely and without errors. For now, the new RefWorks doesn't recognise scandinavian letters å,ä,ö. You need to add them to references manually. See instructions on the right "Checking and editing references".

5. After you have checked the references, move them to a folder you have created (see instructions).

RefWorks has an easy to use tool that installs in any web browser called “Save to RefWorks”. The Save to RefWorks browser bookmarklet grabs information from any web page – in some cases a complete article – and adds it to your RefWorks library.

1. Install Save to Refworks add-on to your browser. On the top menu, select  Tools (three dots) - cllick Install Save to RefWorks - drag and drop Save to RefWorks bookmarklet to your browser's Favorites bar.

 

You can save a set of search results or an individual article - the choice is yours.  You can easily edit meta-date prior to importing into RefWorks and in some cases even grab the full-text. Results vary by site.

 

To save a single article or citation:

1.Navigate to the website or database where you want to capture the information.
2.Click Save to RefWorks.
3.A side-panel will open and you'll see your citation information filled in. If RefWorks identifies full-text, you'll see an option to try to save it with your citation information. 
4.Click the Save to RefWorks button to start the capture.  You can modify the citation date before it is imported.
5.You'll receive a confirmation when the import is complete and you can click on the View in RefWorks button to review your newly capture information in your Recent collection.


To import multiple citations:

1.Navigate to the website or database where you want to capture the information.
2.From the search results list, click Save to RefWorks.
3.A side-panel will open and you'll see a list of citations.  Mark the citations you want to import (or Select all).  If RefWorks identifies full-text, you'll see an option to try to save it with your citation information. 
4.Click the Save to RefWorks button to start the capture.
5.You'll receive a confirmation when the capture is complete and you can click on the View in RefWorks button to review your newly imported information in your Recent collection.  Save to RefWorks will automatically bring in any full-text it can capture.

After importing and checking the references, move them to a folder you have created (see instructions).

You can bring pdf files to RefWorks from your computer.There are two ways of doing this.

Option 1.
1.Click the + sign ja select Upload Document.
2.Select the correct file and click Open.

3.Pdf is copied to RefWorks. Check the reference data for accuracy.
4.Click Read button to start reading the pdf.
5.Click pencil icon to edit the reference.
6.When you click lightning icon ("Find and complete a reference using the title"),  RefWorksin searches for matching reference ("Did you mean one of these?").

Option 2.
1. Drag and drop the pdf file to RefWorks.
2. Pdf is copied to RefWorks. Check the reference data for accuracy.
3. Click Read button to start reading the pdf.
4. Click pencil icon to edit the reference.
5. When you click lightning icon ("Find and complete a reference using the title"),  RefWorksin searches for matching reference ("Did you mean one of these?").

1. To add an item to RefWorks, click the Add a reference icon + at the top of the page. If you plan on adding the item to an existing collection, click on the collection first, then click the Add a reference + icon . Using Create new reference you can manually enter your bibliographic data.

2. Enter your reference's data into the form on the right (Title, Author, Date, etc).

3. RefWorks uses its document recognition feature to attempt to auto-complete the reference fields on the page. Click the lightning icon. RefWorks suggests options that match your given data (Did you mean one of these?). If one of them is the correct one, clikc the reference and Save.

 

You can bring your old RefWorks data into the New RefWorks from within your New RefWorks account via Import references.Voit

  1. Click + icon on the top menu.
  2. Selecg Import references, RefWorks and Authorize.
  3. Give the password to you old RefWorks account. You can now import references to new RefWorks.

 

Loading ...

Checking and editing references

Scandinavian letters are not always transferred to new RefWorks. If so, you will need to edit them manually. In addition, it's recommended you also check that other data have been transferred correctly.

To edit references:

  1. Select reference.
  2. Click pencil icon.
  3. Go to the field that need editing (e.g.. Title or Publisher) and enter the correct letters.
  4. Save.

RefWorks shows the list of references in either Normal View, Citation View or Full View. Choose the view setting using the menu on the bottom right of the RefWorks page.

Citation View shows references according to the reference style you have chosen. Missing data (such as Edition and Publisher in the example below) are shown in yellow and/or blue. You can edit and enter the missing data by clicking the data field.

You can add one or more attachments to references.

1. Select reference.

2. Click the pencil icon.

3. Click the field Attachment and select the correct file on your computer.

Loading ...