Skip to main content

RefWorks: Citation styles

Formatting citation styles

Haaga-Helia's reporting guidelines specify Haaga-Helia's own citation style. However, you can also use the Harvard style available on RefWorks, if you mention it in the introduction of your report. It's also a good idea to check the use of the Harvard style with your thesis advisor.

There are countless citation styles in RefWorks. For instance, publishers and various scientific journals use their own styles.

You can create more citation styles by either creating a completely New style or editing an existing style (All styles, My styles). Use Citation Style Editor on the top menu to edit citation styles.

 

1. Click the " icon and select Citation Style Editor.

2. Write the name of the style you want to edit in the search box.

3. Once you've found the correct citation style click Save a Copy.

4. Give the style a new name by writing it on top of the old one. Save.

5. You can now edit the citation style.

6. Make changes in Bibliography, Citations, and Footnotes. Edit all the reference types (Book, Journal Article, Thesis, etc) you use one by one. The default Reference type is Generic. RefWorks will use it unless another refrence type is specified Click Save. Open the data you want to edit (Authors, Publisher, etc.) by clicking the + sign.

 

7. The new style can be seen in All styles and My styles. It is visible on your RefWorks account only. The style is marked with  Me (owner).

8. Click the style name to continue return to editing mode. Remember to Save the changes you've made.

9. In edit mode, click Options to Rename, Duplicate, or your style.

For your style to be visible in Word and Write-N-Cite, go to Word and click Sync My Database.

 

The Bibliography area of the citation style editor is where you determine the settings for your bibliography.

1. Determine the sort order of references in your bibliography (such as alphabetical, in the order references have been cited in your paper, by publication year, etc.).

2. You can also determine the layout, such as line spacing and indents. Check Haaga-Helia's reporting guidelines for information on  layout used in Haaga-Helia reports.

3. Use the box above Bibliography Settings to determine which data you want to include in references on you bibliography, such as Authors, Publish Date, Title, Publisher, etc. Change the order of the data fields by drag and drop. Click the cross sign next to the data field to delet the data. To add data, click the + sign.

 

4. You need to make changes for each reference type you use (book; book section; book, edited collection; journal article; newspaper article; etc) one by one. Go to Reference type to make those changes.

5. Click the name of the data field (such as Authors) to make changes. For example, determine how many author names are listed in your bibliography. You can also add a Comment to the field. Data fields with comments have a blue dot next to the field name.

To format citations (citation of references in you text) go to Citations and then Citation Settings.

 

2. Determine the order in which your references are cited (alphabetical by author, by publication year ascending/descending, etc.). You can also edit the layout of the citation, such as to use cursive text.

3. Use the box above Citation Settings to determine which data you want to include in references in your in-text citations, such as Authors, Publish Date, Title, Publisher, etc. Change the order of the data fields by drag and drop. Click the cross sign next to the data field to delet the data. To add data, click the + sign.

4. You need to make changes for each reference type you use (book; book section; book, edited collection; journal article; newspaper article; etc) one by one. Go to Reference type to make those changes.

5. Click the name of the data field (such as Authors) to make changes. For example, determine how many author names are listed in your citation. You can also add a Comment to the field. Data fields with comments have a blue dot next to the field name.

Loading ...