Skip to main content

RefWorks: Arrange references into folders

Folders

  1. Open My Folders menu located on the left of the page.
  2. Click Add a Folder.
  3. Give a name for the folder.
  4. Click Save.

  1. Open My folders menu.
  2. Click the three dots next to the folde name.
  3. Select Rename.
  4. Give a new name and click Save.

 

  1. Open My Folders menu.
  2. Select the folder under which you want to create a subfolder.
  3. Click the three dots next to the folder name.
  4. Select Add subfolder.
  5. Give your subfolde a name and click Save.

 

  1. Open My folders.
  2. Select the folder you want to delete and click the three dots next to it's name.
  3. Select Delete.
  4. Are you sure you want to delete the folder? Answer Yes.

Huom! Tämä poistaa vain kansion. Kansiossa olleet viitteet säilyvät RefWorksissa.

 

 

References are first transferred to the Last Imported folder. They remain there for 30 days. Move references to your own folders.

You can clear the Last Imported folder by clicking Clear "Last Imported". References will not be deleted completely from RefWorks, only from the Last Imported folder.

Not in Folder contains references you have not yet removed to other folders.

The references you have deleted go to Deleted folder. References remain there for 30 days. You can restore accidentally deleted references from the Deleted folder. See instructions on the right.

 

I Sharing your references to others

You can share references in your folders with Share folder function. N.B.! At the moment, these references cannot be used with Write-N-Cite.

1. Select the folder you want to share with others. Click Share & Export on the top menu bar. Click Share folder. You can also select Share a folder in the Sharing menu on the left..

2. Write the e-mail addresses for those who want to share your folder with. Define what they can do with the references. The recipients Can read, Can annotate, or Can modify references you share.

 
II Using references others have shared with you

When someone shares a folder with you, you will receive an e-mail notification.

1. Go to RefWorks using the lin in the notification e-mail.

2. In RefWorks you'll see "Invitation pending. To accept or reject the invitation, click on Sharing to the left".

3. Accept the shared folder by clicking the check mark (picture above)

4. It's recommended to copy references in the shared folder to one of your own folders. This way you'll continue to have the references when you no longer have access to the shared folder.

5. You will see others who have access to the shared folder by clicking the three dots next to the folder name. Select Sharing settings. N.B.! Done closes the pop-up window. By clicking Leave  you give up the shared folder.

Loading ...

Arrange references into folders

When you have transferred references to RefWorks, it's a good idea to arrange them in folders. There are two ways of moving references to folders. 

A.

  1. Mark the references you want to move.
  2. Select Folder icon on the top menu.
  3. Mark the folder where you want to move references.
  4. Select Apply.

B

  1. Open the menu My folders located on the left of the page.
  2. Move your cursor on top of the reference.
  3. Drag and drop it to the correct file.

References can be moved to more than one folder.

 

Remove references from a single folder

  1. Select the reference you want to remove and click the trash can icon on the top menu.
  2. Click Remove from folder.  The reference is removed from this folder, but not from RefWorks. It will be moved to Not in Folder.

Remove references from RefWorks

  1. Select the reference you want to remove and click the trash can icon on the top menu.
  2. Click Delete. The reference is deleted from this folder and moved to Deleted folder, where it will remain for 30 days. You can restore deleted references for 30 days.

Restore deleted references

  1. Select the reference in folder Deleted.
  2. Drag and drop it to another folder.

or

  1. Select and mark the reference in folder Deleted.
  2. Click Restore selected references on the top menu.

 

  1. You can search for duplicate references by clicking the three dots icon (More) on the top menu.
  2. Select Find duplicates.
  3. Select duplicates and remove them by clicking the trash can icon and selecting Delete.

 

Loading ...