You can listen to many texts by using your browser or its Reader view extension. Microsoft Edge has a built-in function for listening. To learn more, see the following links:
Mobiles have both native text-to-speech features and gesture-based screen readers, which require plenty of practice. The reading aids can generally be found under settings. Paths and options depend on the mobile device version and manufacturer. Follow the links to learn more:
Be careful when choosing a listening feature on a mobile device! Gesture-based commands are intended for the visually impaired, and the use requires practice.
E-books are produced in different file formats (EPUB, PDF), which means that the library has e-books that function in different ways. Your device and the reading program provided by the e-book service also affect usability. Articles in databases are usually either in HTML or PDF format or both. You can usually easily listen to articles in HTML format.
Some of the Haaga-Helia library databases have an in-built listening function. These databases are marked on the A-Z Databases list with a headphones icon 
. When you click the icon, you will be taken to the database's own listening instructions.
If a database has its own accessibility instructions, they are linked on the A-Z Databases list behind an accessibility icon 
.
There are also specialised screen reader programmes, like NVDA and Jaws. These are intended for the visually impaired. Their use is based on gestures and need practice as the gesture commands differ.
Read more about screen readers on Axess Lab homepage.
You can also listen to fles and e-mail messages. To learn more, follow the links below.
With an OCR (Object Character Recognition) program, you can take a photograph of a textbook page or printed document, and the program will read the image and create an editable text file from it. Some OCR programs allow you to listen to the text file. If this option is not available, you can transfer the text file to another reading tool for listening.
More information on OCR (Object Character Recognition) programs on Celianet.
Acrobat Pro is a paid program that works on a PC or Mac, laptop or mobile device. Haaga-Helia students can use Acrobat Pro on campus computers for free. Acrobat Pro converts scanned documents, photographs, webpages and Microsoft Office files into PDF files.
Watch the video below to learn how to use your browser to listen to texts. Edge provides additional features to aid reading.
Video by Oulu University Library. CC-BY-SA 4.0. (Video 2:25 min, opens on YouTube. English subtitles available.)
You can also dictate your text instead of typing, whether it is a document, e-mail, or notes. All you need is a microphone and internet access. The following links open on YouTube:
Video by Sharon Smith. (Video 6:04 min, opens on YouTube. English subtitles available.)
This page is based on Listen page in Accessibility guide, which is produced by Laurea, Hamk, Lapland UAS, Turku UAS, Xamk and University of Oulu. The original guide is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license. The license does not apply to videos and images linked to the guide from elsewhere.