E-books: User guides

Many e-books can be downloaded and used offline with Adobe Digital Editions e-book reader. This is how it's done:

1.  Install Adobe Digital Editions e-book reader .
   •  Authorize Adobe Digital Editions (Help > Authorize computer)
     • If you read e-books on a single computer, you can authorize the reader without an Adobe ID.
       • Choose: "I want to authorize my computer without an ID.”
     • If you want to read e-books on multiple devices, authorize the reader with Adobe ID.
       • Required with mobile apps.
       • Create an Adobe ID. The email address you enter will be your Adobe ID.
2. Download the e-book following the instructions of the e-book service you are using.

More information on Adobe Digital Editions .

Ebook Central has tens of thousands of mainly English language e-books from various fields of science.  The service includes the former Ebrary and Ebook Library collections. These e-books can be read either directly in your browser or by loaning the books onto your own workstation.

There are errors with links and availability information regarding Ebook Central e-books in HH Finna starting 8.9.2022. The information is up to date on Ebook Central's own interface.

How to download Ebook Central e-books

The majority of the books may be loaned for 1-7 days, a few for 1-3 days. You need Adobe Digital Editions , a free program that is different from Adobe Reader.

1. Install Adobe Digital Editions e-book reader
2. Authorize Adobe Digital Editions (Help > Authorize computer)

• If you read e-books on a single computer, you can authorize the reader without an Adobe ID.
  • Choose: "I want to authorize my computer without an ID.”
• If you want to read e-books on multiple devices, authorize the reader with Adobe ID.
  • Required with mobile apps.
  • Create an Adobe ID. The email address you enter will be your Adobe ID.

3.  Go to HH Finna .
4. In remote use, remember to log in to HH Finna with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password.
5. Search for ”Ebook Central”.
6. Go to Ebook Central by clicking the link "Link to e-resource (Haaga-Helia license) ".
7. You can browse books by topics or search by name or subject, e.g. ”business plan”.
8. Click the book cover to open the e-book in QuickView.

If you get a Bad Request error when trying to access the service, add manually  the correct start of the address https://  and the access will work.

How to read Ebook Central e-books online on your home computer

1. Go to HH Finna .
2. In remote use, remember to log in to HH Finna with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password.
3. Search for ”Ebook Central”.
4. Go to Ebook Central by clicking the link "Tietokannan käyttöliittymä".
5. You can browse books by topics or search by name or subject, e.g. ”business plan”.
6. Click the book cover to open the e-book in QuickView.

If you get a Bad Request error when trying to access the service, add manually  the correct start of the address https://  and the access will work.

More instructions on using Ebook Central

• incl. downloading e-books to mobile devices, etc.

You can save books to your own Ebook Central bookshelf, write notes and underline passages in the books and format a limited number pages/book into a normal PDF file. E-books can also be downloaded onto tablet devices (iPad, Samsung Galaxy Tab), e-Readers (Sony Reader, Kindle) and smart phones. 

The Ellibs library includes hundreds of e-book titles in Finnish and English, mainly non-fiction. The e-books have a limited number of concurrent user licences. That is, for each e-book, there are a number of “copies” available for loan, just like with printed books. You can select a loan period of either 1 day or 5 days.

The Ellibs e-books are available in HH Finna  or directly on the Ellibs service . Log in to the service with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password (HAKA login). You can read Ellibs' e-books in several ways. Below instructions for reading with

• Thorium Reader app on your computer
• Adobe Digital Editions software on your computer
• browser
• Ellibs app (mobile reading)
• e-book reader

See also instructions for listening to audiobooks.

More detailed instructions on Ellibs' website .

Download an e-book to Thorium Reader on your computer

 1. Download and install a reader software Thorium Reader. Select the corret link for your device:

• Windows 11 version in Microsoft Store 
• General Windows version
• MacOS version
• Linux (.AppImage) Ubuntu 20.04 and later
• Linux (.deb) Debian, including Ubuntu 20.04 and later

2. Go to the Ellibs service . Log in with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password (HAKA login).

3. Go to My Bookshelf to check your LCP Passphrase. You will need it when you open an e-book in Thorium Reader for the first time.

4. Download a book file for your device by selecting Download (Thorium Reader) and open the .lcpl file in the reader software.

5. Enter your LCP Passphrase in the reader program. In the future, you can bypass this step 1 to 2 and download books directly to your reader software.

You can see the e-books you've downloaded both in Thorium Reader and in My Bookshelf.

See Ellibs' instrutional video  on YouTube .

Download an e-book to Adobe Digital Editions on your computer

1. Install Adobe Digital Editions e-book reader .

•  Authorize Adobe Digital Editions (Help > Authorize computer)
  • If you read e-books on a single computer, you can authorize the reader without an Adobe ID.
    • Choose: I want to authorize my computer without an ID.
  • If you want to read e-books on multiple devices, authorize the reader with Adobe ID.
    • Required with mobile apps.
    • Create an Adobe ID. The email address you enter will be your Adobe ID.

2. Go to the Ellibs service .

3. Log in with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password (HAKA login).
4. Download the book file to your device by tapping the Download to your device button. The right to borrow books will be transferred to your device as a separate URLLink.acsm file. Open the file in the reader program.

Read an e-book online in browser

1. Go to the Ellibs service .

2. Log in with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password (HAKA login).

3. Borrow the book by tapping the Read online button and begin reading.

Read an e-book with the Ellibs app

1. Download the Ellibs app

• on your iOS device from the App Store
• on your Android device from Google Play .

2. Log in to your own library (Haaga-Helia) with the app.

3. Borrow an e-book or audiobook by tapping the Borrow button. The e-book will automatically appear in the reader screen when it is borrowed. When borrowing an audiobook, the Borrow button will change into a Listen button. When the button is tapped, the app will open the play screen and you may begin listening to the audiobook. In both cases, the e-book/audiobook can be accessed later on the My Bookshelf screen.

Read e-books with an e-book reader

First, download the e-book to your computer and then transfer it to the reader using the computer reader program. When you connect the reader to a USB port on the computer, the device will appear on the reader programme menu and you will be able to copy the e-book file to the reader.

More detailed instructions on how to transfer and download e-books can be found in the instructions included with the device.

Can e-books be reserved?

If all copies of a book are on loan, it may be possible for you to make a reservation. The books available for reservation are clearly marked with a Reserve button. Books in PDF format cannot be reserved.

You will be notified by e-mail when the reserved book is available on your bookshelf in Ellibs. Making a reservation is free of charge.

Don’t worry about returning an e-book

At the end of the loan period, the electronic book file will close automatically. You don’t have to worry about due dates. If you wish, though, you can return e-books earlier.

Listen to audiobooks

1. Go to the Ellibs service . Log in with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password (HAKA login).

2. In the Format menu, select Audiobook (MP3).

2. Select the  audiobook you wish to listen to.

3. You can listen to the audiobook in three ways.

• Listen in browser on your computer, tablet, or phone by clicking the Listen button.
• Listen with Ellibs app. See instructions for using the app above.
• Listen in Thorium Reader. See Thorium Reader instructions for e-books.

Can audiobooks be reserved?

If all copies of a book are on loan, it may be possible for you to make a reservation. The books available for reservation are clearly marked with a Reserve button. Books in PDF format cannot be reserved.

You will be notified by e-mail when the reserved book is available on your bookshelf in Ellibs. Making a reservation is free of charge.

Don’t worry about returning an audio-book

At the end of the loan period, the audiobook file will close automatically. You don’t have to worry about due dates. If you wish, though, you can return audiobooks earlier.

Ebsco's e-books can be read online with an internet browser. Some of the books can also be downloaded. Online reading requires an internet connection while reading, whereas downloaded books can be read offline.

To read Ebsco eBooks online:

1. Ebsco recommends the following browsers: Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome, and IE 10.0 or newer.
2. Search the book in HH Finna .
3. Click the link E-Resource. You are directed to the Ebsco eBook Collection interface. You will be asked for Haaga-Helia's user ID and password, if you are accessing the resources outside Haaga-Helia's network.
4. Open the e-book by clicking the link Full text (PDF Full text or EPUB Full text).

To download Ebsco eBooks onto your device:

1. Search for the book in Ebsco eBook Collection . If you found the book in HH Finna, go to Ebsco eBook Collection and search for the book again.
2. Log in with your Ebsco user ID. If you do not yet have an account in Ebsco, select "Create a new account" and register as a user.
3. Select Download (Offline).
4. Select loan period. The e-book will download onto your device for a maximum period of 7 days.
5. Open the e-book in Adobe Digital Editions. Download Adobe Digital Editions , if you don't have it.
6. Next, give your Adobe ID. If you don't have it, register for one. 
7. Open the e-book in Adobe Digital Editions. N.B. It may take a moment for the book to download.

Reserving an e-book:

Ebsco's e-books can be used by 1 or 3 users at the same time. The number of user licenses vary. If the e-book is not available, you can reserve it. To reserve a book, you need to log in with your Ebsco user ID.

CABI’s Leisure and Tourism eBooks collection provides books from the leisure, recreation, sport, hospitality, tourism and culture sectors. Books are presented in easy-to-navigate PDF files. The dynamic file continues to grow year on year ensuring up-to-date high quality content.

To read Leisure Tourism eBooks online:

1. Open the Leisure Tourism
2. Select the appropriate topic you wish to search by clicking the "search within topic" box.
3. Choose "Cabi book info" from "Filter by type" box.
4. Once selected click the "Search" button.
5. Filter your search further by adding additional terms from the right hand column.
6. You can also search for a book by name or topic, such as "tourism management".
7. Need more help? Read CABeBooks user guide

You will be asked for Haaga-Helia's user ID and password, if you are accessing the resources outside Haaga-Helia's network.

See user instructions on MOT service (in Finnish only) .

Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online) includes a large collection of e-books, videos, audio books and online courses mainly on IT and business.

A. How to read Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education e-books (user without account)

1. Go to Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education .
2. Click the link "Institution not listed?", which is below the dropdown menu.
3. If you haven't created an account yet, type in your Haaga-Helia email address.
4. Click button Let's Go.
5. Search for the book you need. You can search by title or author or browse books by topic.
6. You can read an e-book directly in a browser. No e-book reader needed.
7. Click the cover of the book and you’ll see the book’s description and table of contents.
8. Click the button ”Start reading now”.

It is also possible to create a personal account. When you sign in, you will receive an email with instruction on how to create an account. N.B.! If you create a personal account, you need to sign in with this account ID (and not with your e-mail address).

B. How to read Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education e-books (user who already has an account)

1. Go to Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education .
2. Click the link "Institution not listed?", which is below the dropdown menu.
3. Click the link "Already a user?"
4. You are now in the Sign In page. Type your Haaga-Helia email address.
5. Click button Continue.
6. Type your password for Safari. (Notice, this password is not your Haaga-Helia user ID password / Haka-login password!)
7. Click button Sign In.
8. If you have forgotten your password for this service, click link "Forgot Password?" and you will get a new one to your Haaga-Helia email.
9. Search for the book you need. You can search by title or author or browse books by topic.
10. You can read an e-book directly in a browser. No e-book reader needed.
11. Click the cover of the book and you’ll see the book’s description and table of contents.
12. Click the button ”Start reading now”.

How to download Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education e-books to mobile devices
E-books can be downloaded to a mobile app (Android and iOS). The mobile app requires you to create a personal account (see step 2 above).

Safari O’Reilly for Higher Education: User Guide

Loan period is one day.

How to read Vitalsource Bridgen e-books in your browser

1. Go to Vitalsource Bridge .
2. Select a book and click Activate and then Launch.
3. You don't need to give an email address and create an account to read books in your browser. You can click No thanks, I'll skip this step.
4. Accept Terms of use.
5. The book opens for you to read.

If you wish to download an e-book, you have to create an account in Vitalsource Bridge and to download Bookshelf reader software.

1. Go to Vitalsource Bridge.
2. Select a book and click Activate and then Launch.
3. Give your email address and create an account.
4. Accept Terms of use.
5. The book opens for you to read.
6. Download the reader app Bookshelf.
7. Open the Bookshelf app on your device.
8. N.B.! You can only download books you have Launched in your browser and while you were logged in to your account. It's not possible to browse all e-books in the Bookshelf app.
9. Download the book by clicking the book cover in Bookshelf.

You can make highlights and notes in the e-books (see video tutorial "Highlights and notes on Vitalsource Bridge ). If you have an account, your notes will be saved on your account and you can share them with other users.

VitalSource Bridge video tutorials

VLeBooks includes books formerly available on Dawsonera. E-books on VLeBooks can be read online with an internet browser. Some of the books can also be downloaded. Online reading requires an internet connection while reading, whereas downloaded books can be read offline.

To read e-books on VLeBooks online:

1. Go to  HH Finna and search the book you need.
2. Login with Haaga-Helia's user ID an password (HAKA login).
3. Click the link  "Linkki verkkoaineistoon (Haaga-Helian lisenssi) ".
4. Click "Read online".

To download  e-books on VLeBooks onto your device:

Some e-books can be downloaded for 1, 2 or 5 days. To download books, you need to install an e-book reader software. First, create and Adobe ID , if you don't have it. Then download Adobe Digital Editions , a free program that is different from Adobe Reader. Adobe Digital Editions is also available for free on App Store and Google Play.

1. Go to HH Finna and search the book you need.
2. Login with Haaga-Helia's user ID an password (HAKA login).
3. Click the link  "Linkki verkkoaineistoon (Haaga-Helian lisenssi) ".
4. Click "Download".
5. Select loan period 1, 2 or 5 days and click  "Download".
6. Wait while the downloading is being prepared and then select "Click here to download".
7. The e-book will open in Adobe Digital Edition. The downloading may take a while.

For more instructions, go to the Help section on VLeBooks or see the tutorial videos below.