Keenious AI tool: Keenious in a web browser

There are two ways to start  a search

1. Enter text in the search box. Ask a simple questions or input a longer text.
2. Click on the Upload PDF icon, then upload or drag and drop a PDF file. The PDF file must be a text PDF, not an image of text.

Keenious analyzes the text and recommends articles based on the analysis. The results page is divided into two sections. 

• The list of recommended articles and the traditional filtering tools (Filters, language selection) are displayed on the right side of the page.

• On the left side of the page, Keenious helps you refine your information search. Based on the articles it finds, it suggests more specific perspectives on the topic and helps you understand related concepts. You can ask refining questions in the chat.

If you entered a long text, you can refine your search by selecting part of the text. Click the Ask AI button and ask questions about the selected text, for example, about the concepts that appear in it. Alternatively, you can request sources that are particularly relevant to the highlighted section.

You can enter texts written in many languages. By default, Keenious provides articles in the language of the text you use (Autodetect), but you can limit your search to other languages by specifying the language in chat or using the language menu on the right. Keenious does not limit the length or search frequency of English texts. Texts in other languages can be up to 20,000 characters (about 8-9 pages).

Links to articles

Keenious does not contain full texts of articles, but you can read the abstracts. If the article is available in the Haaga-Helia databases, you can get a link to the full text by clicking on the Check Haaga-Helia Access button. Open Access articles can also be accessed via the DOI link.

• If you can't access the full text of an article from the links provided by Keenious, try searching for the article by its title on Google Scholar.

Keenious creates a short summary of the selected article to the chat window. You can get the summary in the language you use to chat with Keenious.

To start a new search, select New chat on the left-hand side of the page.

Keenious allows you to filter search results by writing in the chat or by using Filters on the top of the article list.

Use Filters to limit the search results by publication date, number of citations, authors, journals, conferences, or topic. You can also narrow the search to open access materials, but this will exclude articles available in Haaga-Helia's databases.

Search results can be filtered with keywords. Keenious will only display results that match your search. You can use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT), phrase search (e.g. "arctic circle") or group keywords with brackets, e.g. (Finland OR Sweden) AND "arctic circle".

You can collect interesting articles by bookmarking them. Click on the star next to the article.

To return to the bookmarked articles highlighted with a yellow star, select Bookmarks. Keenious Help Center provides more information on the Bookmarks function.

You can Copy to Clipboard or Download the citation for an article by clicking on '' Cite.

When you click on More next to the Bookmarks function and select Export result page, you can create a list of references of the articles listed on the search result page. You can either Copy to clipboard or Download the list as a txt file. Note that the export only applies to articles listed on one page, not all of them. At the bottom of the list, you can select how many articles are displayed on one page (10, 25, 50 or 100).

Use the Export result page function to export references to a reference management program (Mendley, Zotero, etc.). Select RIS or BibTex as the file format in the Style menu and then Download. Upload the file to the reference management program according to the program's instructions.