LibGuides: How to search for information: Internet

Useful links

Association of Finnish Travel Agents AFTA
Consortium of travel agencies, tour operators and incoming agencies that drives its members’ interests in relations with public authorities, legislators as well as in the field of domestic and international organizations.
The European Travel Agents' and Tour Operators' Associations ECTAA
Group of national travel agents’ and tour operators’ associations within the EU.
Fineli
National Food Composition Database in Finland, maintained by the National Institute for Health and Welfare.
Finnish Food Authority
The Finnish Hospitality Association MaRa
Leading national trade and labour market association in the hospitality industry in Finland
Visit Finland
Statistics and information on tourism in Finland. Freely accessible.
Visit Sweden
Sweden's official website for tourism and travel information.

Airbus
Airports Council International (ACI)
ATAG
Air Transport Action Group.
Australian Government - Civil Aviation Safety Authority
Boeing
Civil Aviation Authority
The UK's specialist aviation regulator.
Embraer
European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
FlightGlobal
Flightradar24
Government of Canada - Aviation
International Air Transport Association (IATA)
International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)
Plane Finder
SimpliFlying
SITA
Trafi - Finnish Transport Safety Agency
United States Department of Transportation - Federal Aviation Administration

Business Finland
Services for companies in innovation activities, internationalization, investments and tourism promotion.
Federation of Finnish Enterprises
Information and services for companies
Suomi.fi is a web service in which you can find the public services and information.
Team Finland
Network of public sector actors providing internationalisation services for Finnish companies.

Finnish Society of Sport Sciences
Sponet
Soveltavan huippu-urheilututkimuksen julkaisuja. Soveltavan huippu-urheilututkimuksen keskuksen (IAT) kehittämä ja ylläpitämä tietokanta. / Publications in applied training science, database of the Institute for Applied Training Science (IAT).
Clearinghouse for Sport
Strength and Conditioning Research
Information about strength training, athletic performance, and biomechanics.
YLMSportScience

Google Scholar*

Google Scholar is a search engine specialised in finding research articles. Some of library's electronic resources can be searched with Google Scholar. In addition, you'll be able to search for Open Access materials.

Google Scholar
Search engine for research material. How to find Haaga-Helia's e-resources using Google (pdf) .

Can you use Google effectively?

Use Google's Advanced search to

combine search terms
narrow results by document type: reports and research are often in pdf format
limit results by language
limit results by latest update time

Remember to evaluate the reliability and usability of the sources you find!

Open data

Open science and research aims to make research results, research data, and research methods publicly accessible and usable. Increasingly, both research publications and research data are freely available to anyone. Research data already collected could be used in theses, for instance. Search for open data in data archives, such as the ones below.

Aila

Aila Data Service provides access to data archived at the Finnish Social Science Data Archive. Browsing, searching and accessing metadata is completely free. Some datasets are freely available for downloading.

Avoindata.fi

Avoindata.fi is a centralized repository for Open Data in Finland. Open Data is digital information that can be freely used as long as the original source is credited. The repository contains datasets published by the government, municipalities, companies, organizations and individuals.

Etsin

Search tool for research data.

re3data.org - Registry of Research Data Repositories

International search portal for data archives. Search datasets by subject, type, country or other criteria.

Citing research data

Research data is source material like any other, such as a book, journal article or a website. The same principles apply to citing data sources. In the minimum, the citation should include author, title, publication year, version, and information on availability (permanent identifier of data). Data archives often provide citation instructions for users. If you are using open data for your thesis, it is a good idea to ask your thesis adviser for advice on citing.

More information and examples of citing data:

Citing archival data by Finnish Social Science Data Archive