Search Haaga-Helia's online library. It contains both printed and e-materials of 3UAS libraries Haaga-Helia, Laurea, and Metropolia.
Due to increased use, e-book services and other online services may be slow or down. Try opening the e-book at a less-busy time of the day.
Ebook Central has tens of thousands of mainly English language e-books from various fields of science. The service includes the former Ebrary and Ebook Library collections. These e-books can be read either directly in your browser or by loaning the books onto your own workstation.
The majority of the books may be loaned for 1-7 days, a few for 1-3 days. You need Adobe Digital Editions, a free program that is different from Adobe Reader. An Adobe ID is required only if you want to transfer a downloaded book to another device, but not if you’re just reading it on the same computer.
You can save books to your own Ebook Central bookshelf, write notes and underline passages in the books and format a limited number pages/book into a normal PDF file. E-books can also be downloaded onto tablet devices (iPad, Samsung Galaxy Tab), e-Readers (Sony Reader, Kindle) and smart phones
How to read Ebook Central e-books online on your home computer
If you get a Bad Request error when trying to access the service, add manually the correct start of the address https:// and the access will work.
The Ellibs library includes hundreds of e-book titles in Finnish and English, mainly non-fiction. The e-books have a limited number of concurrent user licences. That is, for each e-book, there are a number of “copies” available for loan, just like with printed books. You can select a loan period of either 10 minutes, 1 day or 7 days (loan periods may vary).
Where can I find the books?
The Ellibs e-books are available in HH Finna or directly on the Ellibs service. Log in to the service with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password (HAKA login). You can either download e-books to your device, read them on your browser of use the Ellibs app.
Download an e-book to your own computer or device (Offline use available with a separate reader program)
1. Create your own Adobe ID.
2. Install an Adobe-compatible reader program, such as Adobe Digital Editions.
3. Activate the reader program using your Adobe ID account information. Your Adobe ID is the email address you used to create the Adobe ID account.
4. Go to the Ellibs service.
5. Log in with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password (HAKA login).
6. Download the book file to your device by tapping the 'Download to your device' button. The right to borrow books will be transferred to your device as a separate “URLLink.acsm” file. Open the file in the reader program.
Read an e-book online
1. Go to the Ellibs service.
2. Log in with your Haaga-Helia user ID and password (HAKA login).
3. Borrow the book by tapping the "Read online" button and begin reading.
Read an e-book or listen to an audiobook with the Ellibs app
1. Download the Ellibs app
2. Log in to your own library (Haaga-Helia) with the app.
3. Borrow an e-book or audiobook by tapping the 'Borrow' button. The e-book will automatically appear in the reader screen when it is borrowed. When borrowing an audiobook, the 'Borrow' button will change into a 'Listen' button. When the button is tapped, the app will open the play screen and you may begin listening to the audiobook. In both cases, the e-book/audiobook can be accessed later on the 'My Bookshelf' screen.
Read e-books with a reader
First, download the e-book to your computer (See instructions above) and then transfer it to the reader using the computer reader program. When you connect the reader to a USB port on the computer, the device will appear on the reader programme menu and you will be able to copy the e-book file to the reader.
More detailed instructions on how to transfer and download e-books can be found in the instructions included with the device.
Can e-books be reserved?
If all copies of a book are on loan, it may be possible for you to make a reservation. The books available for reservation are clearly marked with a Reserve button. Books in PDF format cannot be reserved.
You will be notified by e-mail when the reserved book is available on your bookshelf in Ellibs. Making a reservation is free of charge.
Don’t worry about returning an e-book
At the end of the loan period, the electronic book file will close automatically. You don’t have to worry about due dates. If you wish, though, you can return e-books earlier.
Dawsonera e-book service has been terminated on 31st July. The links in HH Finna are updated to a new VLeBooks platform where the books can be accessed with Haka login remotely and at campuses in public wlan if you have a laptop. Updated links show the text VLeBooks. We are sorry that the updates are still in progress.
Ebsco's e-books can be read online with an internet browser. Some of the books can also be downloaded. Online reading requires an internet connection while reading, whereas downloaded books can be read offline.
To read Ebsco eBooks online:
To download Ebsco eBooks onto your device:
Reserving an e-book:
Ebsco's e-books can be used by 1 or 3 users at the same time. The number of user licenses vary. If the e-book is not available, you can reserve it. To reserve a book, you need to log in with your Ebsco user ID.
CABI’s Leisure and Tourism eBooks collection provides over 130 books from the leisure, recreation, sport, hospitality, tourism and culture sectors. Books are presented in easy-to-navigate PDF files. The dynamic file continues to grow year on year ensuring up-to-date high quality content.
To read Leisure Tourism eBooks online:
You will be asked for Haaga-Helia's user ID and password, if you are accessing the resources outside Haaga-Helia's network.
Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online) includes a large collection of e-books, videos, audio books and online courses mainly on IT and business.
How to read Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education e-books
It is also possible to create a personal account. When you sign in, you will receive an email with instruction on how to create an account. N.B.! If you create a personal account, you need to sign in with this account ID (and not with your e-mail address
How to download Safari O'Reilly for Higher Education e-books to mobile devices
E-books can be downloaded to a mobile app (Android and iOS). The mobile app requires you to create a personal account (see step 2 above).
Loan period is one day.
How to read Vitalsource Bridgen e-books in your browser
If you wish to download an e-book, you have to create an account in Vitalsource Bridge and to download Bookshelf reader software.
You can make highlights and notes in the e-books (video tutorial "Highlights and notes). If you have an account, your notes will be saved on your account and you can share them with other users.
VLeBooks includes books formerly available on Dawsonera. E-books on VLeBooks can be read online with an internet browser. Some of the books can also be downloaded. Online reading requires an internet connection while reading, whereas downloaded books can be read offline.
To read e-books on VLeBooks online:
To download e-books on VLeBooks onto your device:
Some e-books can be downloaded for 1, 2 or 5 days. To download books, you need to install an e-book reader software. First, create and Adobe ID, if you don't have it. Then download Adobe Digital Editions, a free program that is different from Adobe Reader. Adobe Digital Editions is also available for free on App Store and Google Play.
For more instructions, go to the Help section on VLeBooks or see the tutorial videos below.
Saavutettavuusseloste / Accessibility Statement