Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mendeley Reference Management: Read full-texts and make notes

Read full-text documents

If you have imported a PDF file with the citation or added it to the citation separately, you can access and read the document in Mendeley.

When you click the reference, a Read button appears, if the reference includes an attached file.

 

If you cannot see a Read button, there is no file attached. If you have the file and want to add it to the citation in Mendeley, click Files and upload the file from your computer.

Use tools in the top menu to format the reading view.

  1. Fit to height or Fit to width.
  2. Zoom in or Zoom out.
  3. Rotate the text.
  4. Save document.
  5. Find in this PDF.
  6. Open the details of the reference and annotations to the full-text document.

Annotation tools

You can make notes to the PDF documents with Mendeley's annotation tools.

Click Read to open the full-text attachment. The annotation tools menu is on the top of the page.

Tools from left to right:

  1. Text select tool - Use this tool to select text within your document. You can use this to copy and paste relevant passages or to apply highlighting.
  2. Highlight text tool and Highlight rectangular tool (show options by clicking the arrow next to the pen icon). Use these tools to apply highlighting to text or parts within the document. When you click the highlighted text you can Add to Notebook.
  3. Sticky note tool - Use to create sticky notes at specific locations within the document.
  4. Change the color to use highlights.

 

Notebook

Collect highlights and comments across the multiple PDFs you're reading and keep them all securely in one place using Notebook.

Notebook pages aren't tied to a specific reference and allow you to add highlights from many PDFs to a single page. You can access the Notebook by selecting the Notebook button above the PDF.

 

 

 

Annotations

In Annotations, you can see the sticky notes you have added to this one document. They are listed under Comments. You can also create General notes on this document, not tied to a specific section in the text.

If your reference includes a link, you can use it to access the database or web site where the reference was originally found. Please note that you may be able to use some of these database links logged in to Haaga-Helia's network only. Click the reference to see if a link is available.

 

Saavutettavuusseloste / Accessibility Statement