Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mendeley Reference Management: Adding citations and bibliography in Word

Mendeley Cite

Once you have installed Mendeley Cite, you can access it in Word's tab References. Click the Mendeley Cite icon.

Select Sign in to log in with your Mendeley credentials.

 

Go to the tab Citation Style to choose a style. We recommend using Cite Them Right 11th Edition - Harvard. You can use it without edits, even though it differs from Haaga-Helia's reporting guidelines. If Cite Them Right is not listed, click Select another style.

This page includes instructions for

Adding citations

Open Mendeley Cite by clicking the red Mendeley Cite button. Mendeley Cite window opens to the right side of your screen. Under References, select the correct Collection and reference, see image below. Select Insert citation. N.B.! Do not use the referencing tools built into the menu in Word! Always use the Mendeley Cite add-in.

 

If you want to add a citation with multiple references, select all the references and then click the Insert citation button.

 

Editing citations

If you need to edit a citation click the reference in question. If you have already added a citation to your text and need to edit it afterwards, click the citation in your text or search for it in Mendeley Cite.

 

 

Adding page number or suppressing author's name

Add page numbers by selecting  Page in the drop-down menu. Type the page numbers. If a full stop is needed for the citation, add it to the Page field after page numbers. To hide author's name in citation, check  Suppress author. This will create a citation like this: ...according to Baum (2019)...

If you want to delete a citation, click it in your text. You can delete the citation in Mendeley Cite by clicking the check mark and selecting Save changes.

This page includes instructions for

 

Inserting bibliography

When you want to add a bibliography to your text, first make sure the cursor is where you want to insert the bibliography. In Mendeley Cite, select More.

 

Then select Insert Bibliography.

 

Mendeley reminds you of the fact that the bibliography is inserted where you cursor is located in your document. Finally, select Continue.

 

Editing bibliography

Generally, you should edit references in your Mendeley account and not in Word. This way you edit both in-text references and references in bibliography. To update edits in Mendeley Cite, select More > Update from library.

If you want to edit the bibliography in Word:

  • Only edit the bibliography when your document is completed and you will not make any more changes in your report.
  • Save a backup copy of your document, using a different file name. This is done as a precaution.
  • Activate the bibliography by clicking it (frame and three dots in the corner appear around the bibliography). Right click the bibliography (use mouse's right side button) and select Remove content control.

 

  • Now, you can edit the text in bibliography just as you would edit a normal Word document. For instance, you can edit margins or change italics to regular font, etc.
  • N.B.! Using the Remove content control function deletes the connection between your bibliography and Mendeley. It cannot be restored. If for some reason you need to edit the document and add in-text references, delete the old bibliography and add a new one with Mendeley Cite: More > Insert Bibliography. An alternative way is to make edits to the backup file. 

Deleting bibliography

The bibliography is updated automatically whenever you add or delete references or edit them. If you for some reason wish to delete the bibliography, do so by clicking the bibliography. A frame with three dots appear around the bibliography. When you click the three dots on the upper left corner, the whole bibliography will be selected. Now you can delete it as you would any text in Word.

Saavutettavuusseloste / Accessibility Statement