Skip to main content

Using e-resources in teaching: Copyright and licences

Instructions for using copyright-protected materials

Instructions on using copyright-protected materials are given on this page.

1. Kopiosto licences for institutions of higher education
2. Tv and radio programs, movies, and videos in teaching
3. Licences of e-materials purchased by the library 
4. On using images

1. Kopiosto licences for institutions of higher education

Universities of Applied Sciences (UAS) together with universities have entered into an agreement with Kopiosto on a copying licence for the years 2020 - 2022. The licence enables teachers and other staff to copy materials for educational, research and administrative purposes. The same licence covers also students and their study assignments. The licence covers also open UAS education, specialisation and continuing education. It does not cover copies that are charged from the students.

The licence allows copying Finnish and foreign publications, such as books, newspapers, magazines, scholarly publications, sheet music and other printed publications, as well as freely available online images or photos and texts, such as online newspaper or magazine articles, digital publications, reports and excerpts from e-books.

The copying licence does not apply to materials whose digital use is licensed with other agreements and terms of use, e.g., databases in use at Haaga-Helia (see section 3. Licensed e-materials and terms of use).

Unrestricted

Allowed with copying licence
per student/course

Prohibited
  • Entirely self produced materials
  • Acts and decrees
  • Regulations issued by authorities

Copying and printing from open websites

  • 20 images or pages corresponding to A4 sheet size when printed/per website
  • An entire scientific article (materials from Haaga-Helia's databases are subject to separate licences, see section 3. Licensed e-materials and terms of use)
  • Sheet music: 10 pages sheet music / webpage
  • E-books: 20 pages/publication but no more than 20 % of the publication (materials from Haaga-Helia's databases are subject to separate licences, see section 3. Licensed e-materials and terms of use)

Scanning

  • 20 pages / publication, but no more than 20 % of the publication
  • An entire scientific article (materials from Haaga-Helia's databases are subject to separate licences, see section 3. Licensed e-materials and terms of use)
  • Sheet music: 10 pages sheet music/ publication, but no more than half of the publication
  • 10 % of a SFS standard, but no more than 20 pages

Distribution of digital copies

  • Materials may be distributed to a student group or research team via a closed course platform or e-mail.
  • Students may be given access to the materials for the duration of a course.
  • After the course, a teacher can keep the materials for him/herself (e.g. hidden from the students on Moodle) and reuse it for the next course, if the copying licence is valid at that time.

Photocopying

  • 20 pages / publication, but no more than half of the publication
  • Sheet music: 10 pages sheet music/ publication, but no more than half of the publication
  • 10 % of a SFS standard, no more than 20 pages

Copying for research purposes

  • To the extent required for research, non-commercial purposes.
  • External funding alone does not make the research commercial.
  • Enables the copying of large masses of text and even complete publications, to be used for purposes such as data mining.
  • Copies can be saved on a closed network where they are available to the research group for the duration of the research. Copies can also be sent to the research group via email.
  • Materials from Haaga-Helia's databases are subject to separate licences, see section 3. Licensed e-materials and terms of use.
  • Work books, exercise books and answer books
  • Digital materials subject to a charge
  • International standards
  • Music, audiovisual materials and computer software (see section 2.TV and radio programs, movies and videos in teaching)
  • Materials that are used under separate licence or agreement (such as Haaga-Helia's databases or materials licenced with Creative Commons licences)
  • Works shared by private individuals on social media, such as message boards, blogs and image sharing services
  • Material that the use and copying of with Kopiosto’s licences has been prohibited by the author, publisher or another copyright holder. A list of such materials can be found on the Kopiosto website.
  • Translating song lyrics
  • Modifying published learning material or musical works
  • Publishing activities or sharing and distributing copies openly on the Internet.

Kopiosto needs information on the use of works in order to distribute remunerations to the copyright owners. Teachers are requested to electronically stamp pages scanned from publications and report material copied from websites. However, reporting and stamping are not compulsory.  Kopiosto’s reporting and stamping service (in Finnish).

More information:

Online materials are generally copyright-protected. Kopiosto's copying licence enables universities of applied sciences to copy online materials (see previous tab What the Kopiosto licence enables?). The copying licence does not apply to materials whose digital use is licensed with other agreements and terms of use, e.g., databases in use at Haaga-Helia).

Although online materials often appear freely accessible and free of charge, this is rarely the case. Usually, the author/copyright holder has expressed in some way how the material may/can be used. In many cases, the conditions of use etc. are “hidden” on the website, or they have to be retrieved via separate links or other sources.

Some online sources also offer open content licences, which means that the author grants the right to use the content on a worldwide basis subject to certain conditions. One such open licence content system is Creative Commons. It provides authors a simple way to govern how their works may be used, especially in electronic environments. Copyright owners can use Creative Commons licences to grant various different licences for the use of their materials. CC-licensed materials can be searched using search engines such as the  Creative Commons Search

CC-licensed material can also be copyright-protected, and as such it may not be freely available; the way in which the material may be used is determined by the CC licence issued by the author.

More information: Creative Commons

2. TV and radio programs, movies and videos in teaching

A licence is required for the performing or recording of radio and TV programmes for educational purposes. The licence obtained by the Ministry of Education from Kopiosto currently covers only pre-schools, comprehensive schools and upper secondary schools and free vocational education leading to a qualification. Licences are available from APFI, who represent audiovisual producers, and M&M Viihdepalvelu Oy, who sell a non-theatrical film licence. Such a licence is required, for example, for using programs or podcasts on YLE Areena in the classroom. It is possible, however, to link YLE Areena programs and podcasts to learning environments, such as Moodle.

The screening of a DVD film in educational contexts requires a separate licence, which means that a DVD acquired for private use (e.g. at home) may not be screened publicly for educational purposes. Recordings such as audio recordings or DVD films purchased, rented or borrowed from other parties may not be copied for educational use.

Videos published online are generally copyright-protected and a permission to screen them is usually required. For instance, YouTube's terms of service state that it is possible to view or listen to content for personal, non-commercial purposes. Screening in an educational context does not fall under this. Many video services enable content providers to upload videos with a Creative Commons licence CC BY.  Videos marked with a CC BY licence can be used in educational settings. However, keep in mind that some videos may have been uploaded to the video service with a CC licence without the permission of the copyright holder. In such cases, the responsibility for using such material lies with the user of the material. On YouTube, Information of the CC licence can be found under the video (see picture below).

Screen capture of a video on Youtube showing CC licence.

More information:

 

3. Licenced e-materials and terms of use

The licences issued by Kopiosto do not include commercial licensed materials whose conditions of use are determined on a case-by-case basis.Logo for e-materials

Typically, the conditions of use cover the following:

  • How and for what purpose the e-material may be used
  • Who may use the material
  • The physical location (place of use) where the material may be used
  • How the material can be copied, printed, etc.
  • In general, the conditions of use exclude all commercial purposes (e.g. commercial tuition services)

The e-materials offered in the network of Haaga-Helia solely intended for use by Haaga-Helia staff and students for personal study and research purposes. Secondary use of materials is not permitted. Therefore, the conditions of use generally do not allow the use of e-materials as entrance exam materials or in other such contexts where the users are not members of Haaga-Helia staff or students.

The user is always responsible for reading the conditions of use, and they must be read before using the e-material in question. Copyright legislation does not recognise the concept of “good faith" (i.e. if a person does not know or hasn't read the content of the conditions of use, it does not relieve him/her from liability for the misuse or unlicensed use of the material).

More information on user licences

4. On using images

For information of copyright and legal use of images, please visit ImagOA guide by Aalto University.

Saavutettavuusseloste / Accessibility Statement